Awards, Darkest Hour, Movies, THR Online, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing Missouri, USA

‘Three Billboards’ Named Best Film at Australian Academy’s International Awards

Margot Robbie for ‘I, Tonya’ and Gary Oldman for ‘Darkest Hour’ take the top acting awards.

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri took three prizes, including best film, at the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts’ 7th ACTA International Awards, which were held tonight at the Avalon Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles.

The revenge drama also earned best screenplay honors for writer-director Martin McDonagh and best supporting actor for Sam Rockwell.

Margot Robbie took home the best lead actress prize for her portrayal of Tonya Harding in I, Tonya, for which Allison Janney claimed the supporting actress award.

Gary Oldman was named best lead actor for playing Winston Churchill in Darkest Hour.

Meanwhile, the best director laurels went to Christopher Nolan for Dunkirk.

Hugh Sheridan hosted the ceremony.

“On behalf of the Australian Academy, I congratulate all our winners tonight. We have again seen a dynamic mix of international and Australian screen achievement honored, celebrating some of the world’s biggest names in film, including Australian actress Margot Robbie who we’re very proud to count among tonight’s winners,” AFI | AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella said. “The AACTA International Awards add a uniquely Australian voice to the global discussion of screen excellence, and have become an early forecaster of which performers, practitioners and productions will be recognized during the Awards season.” 

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Jimmy Kimmel Sets ‘Avengers: Infinity War’ Week on ‘Live!’
Kendrick Lamar Becomes First Hip-Hop Artist to Win Pulitzer Prize for Music
‘Walking Dead’ Season 8 Finale: Robert Kirkman Explains Keeping Negan Alive
ACM Awards: Carrie Underwood Stuns With Emotional “Cry Pretty” Performance
Bill Mechanic Resigns From Academy Board of Governors

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *