Awards, Movies, THR Online, USA

Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards 2017 winner list

The competition, open exclusively to UCLA students, recognizes excellence in dramatic writing.

Four students from the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television were honored tonight as winners of the 62nd annual Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards, which recognize excellence in dramatic writing.

John Goldwyn, president, and Tony Goldwyn, vice president, of the Samuel Goldwyn Foundation, announced the awards. First prize went to Liz Buda for her screenplay Zero Hour. The other winners were: Second prize, Joey Siara, Goslinged; and tied for third prize, Godwin Itai Japangwe for R.O.V.E.R. and Eric Mallory Morgan for Hole in the Sky. Morgan was a repeat winner, having won first prize in 2016 for his script Tonya.

The competition was judged by Channing Dungey, president of ABC Entertainment; Chris Selak, executive vice president and head of worldwide scripted television for Lionsgate; and actress, producer and activist Kerry Washington.

“In keeping with the tradition my grandfather started in 1955, the Samuel Goldwyn Foundation is proud to support talented young writers,” John Goldwyn said. “We are delighted to celebrate their success.”

The competition is open exclusively to UCLA students. The prizes carry awards of $15,000 for first place, $7,500 for second place and $4,000 for each third place winner.

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Mary J. Blige, Woody Harrelson, Holly Hunter to Present at SAG Awards (Exclusive)
‘Jersey Shore’s’ “The Situation” Pleads Guilty to Tax Evasion
‘Party of Five’ Reboot From Original Series Creators Lands at Freeform
NAACP Image Awards: ‘Handmaid’s Tale’ Star Samira Wiley and Other Winners on Importance of Honor
Late-Night Hosts Poke Fun at Trump’s Physical Exam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *